Floyd Mayweather vs. Ronda Rousey: Ronda believes she would win

Ronda Rousey was on Power 106 FM and had the following to say when asked about what would happen if she had to face Floyd ‘Money’ Mayweather in an MMA bout:

I’ve always been active in the boxer versus the martial artist debate. I’ll always side with the martial artist. It dates back to growing up on Bruce Lee and Chuck Norris movies. Martial arts are the total art of fighting. Boxing is merely the art of punching. I’ve always felt any professional boxer who stepped inside of an MMA Octagon would be destroyed. My viewpoint was validated by Randy Couture back in August 2010 when he swiftly put away boxer James Toney.

Truthfully a boxer is out of his element in the cage, and jabbing round after round for 12 rounds won’t save him. I know Floyd Mayweather is one of the all-time boxing greats. I watch all of his fights. I do feel he jabs and uses his speed to coast to victory. In the MMA, you can’t get away with that. The opponents more often than not put one another away inside of one or two rounds. You’d be a fool to work rounds and win off the scorecard. MMA is the simulation of a real life street fight. They can use what works best for them: punch, kick, knee, wrestle or use holds. Boxing is simply multiple styles and combinations of punching.

Do I honestly believe Ronda Rousey would defeat Floyd Mayweather? Floyd is 5’8, 151 lbs and Ronda is 5’6, 135 lbs. It’s not like we’re exactly debating Ronda Rousey versus Mike Tyson, Evander Holyfield or George Foreman. I don’t doubt the possibility that Ronda could pull it off. I certainly believe Floyd would knock the wind out of Ronda with 2 to 3 well placed body or head shots. I don’t think she could handle that. The question is can Ronda get Floyd to the ground first? I know Floyd would move well but he would have to learn how to battle off takedowns. I can envision Ronda grappling Floyd and locking him in an arm bar with relative ease. Floyd can’t stick and move forever in there.

I don’t know who would win but it would certainly be the pay-per-view event of the year. It’d be highly entertaining. I’d love to see the fight albeit it’ll never happen in a million years.

2 thoughts on “Floyd Mayweather vs. Ronda Rousey: Ronda believes she would win

Leave a Reply

