Why ‘Rowdy’ Ronda Rousey is the greatest female athlete in sports history

I’ll never forget throwing on Strikeforce on Showtime one Saturday night. The night was July 30th, 2011 (I wikied the date). That evening I watched my first women’s MMA bout with Miesha Tate. She would defeat Marloes Coenen to win the Women’s title. I decided Tate would be my girl in MMA and I’d watch every fight of hers that I could. It was clear that Tate had just taken women’s MMA to a higher level. Sold, I began believing women should be given their own division in UFC. It was all about to happen too… but more so because of who Miesha Tate was about to defend her title against: Ronda Rousey.

The first time I saw Ronda I perceived her as a villain but was definitely certain that this beast of a woman was primed to killed Miesha Tate “and her boyfriend”. The execution happened and my run as a Miesha Tate fan was left in ruins. That August when Ronda made her first title defense I declared myself a Ronda fan. Ronda would shred her opponent Sarah Kaufman in 54 seconds via armbar submission (of course). Soon after the UFC’s Dana White declared women’s fighting within the UFC and crowned Ronda UFC Women’s Champion. This action was the most groundbreaking step in women’s sports in recent years, perhaps since the launch of the WNBA.. but perhaps far bigger.

Ronda is now a major star, on magazine covers, starring in Expendables 3 and is rumored to play in the Fast & Furious 7.

RondaMiesha

Now all roads lead to UFC 168 on December 28th. The Ultimate Fighter in September will precede the PPV event where Coach Ronda will be contested by opposing coach Miesha Tate. Tate is the most marketable opponent for Ronda in my view because the feud is so hostile. I also feel the original Ronda vs. Miesha match broke the ceiling for women’s MMA.

All in all Ronda has an intense personality, is an absolute badass, not afraid to blast Kim Kardashian, took her nickname ‘Rowdy’ from Roddy Piper and is starring in two of my favorite film franchises in 2014.

follow-us-on-facebook

One thought on “Why ‘Rowdy’ Ronda Rousey is the greatest female athlete in sports history

  1. Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative. Im going to watch out for brussels. Ill be grateful if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

